What will PIP insurance pay for after a Florida car accident?

Recent changes to Florida statute § 627.736 has meant big adjustments for our injury clients and for all motorists. The statute relates to the existing Personal Injury Protection (PIP) law, also known as “No Fault Insurance.”

Florida law requires every owner of an operable motor vehicle to carry a minimum of $10,000 in PIP insurance coverage. This was designed to ensure that any person injured in a Florida car accident could receive prompt treatment for their injuries, regardless of who was at fault.

An automobile owner’s insurance pays up to $10,000 to cover these medical bills and disability benefits, and up to $5,000 in death benefits. As of January 2013, new rules went into effect that can put injury victims at risk if they are not careful.

Speak with an experienced Florida attorney at our firm today.
Call 855-Kramer-Now (855-572-6376)
.

Why it is Wise to Seek the Guidance of a Orlando Car Accident Attorney

First of all, as an insured Florida automobile owner, as of January 1, 2013 your personal injury protection (PIP) may no longer cover you (your resident relatives or passengers in your vehicle) for the maximum of $10,000. Nevertheless, you still have to pay the premium to have the coverage. Essentially, you are paying the same money for less insurance coverage.

Second, as of January 2013, a victim of a car accident has limited time to receive these PIP benefits after an accident. If you are injured, you must seek medical evaluation and treatment within 14 days after an accident; otherwise you will lose your right to medical coverage under PIP.

In order to be eligible to receive the full coverage of $10,000.00 in PIP insurance benefits you will have to be diagnosed with an “emergency medical condition” (EMC) by a qualified medical professional.

If, during the initial medical evaluation, the doctor does not document a specific medical condition, you cannot receive coverage for that condition later. As an Orlando car accident attorney, we have handled many cases where the onset of certain symptoms are delayed after an accident.

For instance, you may initially be diagnosed with a broken leg and head trauma, but two weeks later you develop chronic symptoms of injury to the spinal disc, because the inflammation took several weeks to present itself or your more acute injuries were overshadowing underlying conditions.

Also, if you receive medical treatment within the 14-day window but are not diagnosed with an EMC, the PIP medical coverage is automatically limited to $2,500. Remember, just by going to the emergency room for treatment does not automatically qualify your injury as an EMC.

How Kramer Law Can Help

This law obviously affects insurance coverage in personal injury claims regarding Florida car accidents. Many other critical factors are affected under the new law, including injuries and treatment covered, where one qualifies for an EMC and the expanded benefits, restriction on medical providers, PIP death benefits and more.

If you become involved in a Florida auto accident, you need to protect yourself. This requires a prompt and experienced review of your case, and an Orlando car accident attorney at Kramer Law will be glad to do so.

Questions about Florida PIP insurance?

Do not hesitate to call us: 855-Kramer-Now (855-572-6376).

At Kramer Law, our diverse law firm is here for families for a lifetime, and not just one incident. At our firm you should never feel like a number or like another cog in the machine. We are here to help you tackle any legal issues you may face.

Altamonte Springs Office
999 Douglas Avenue
Suite 3333
Altamonte Springs, FL 32714
407.834.4847
Downtown Orlando Office
37 N. Orange Avenue
Suite 500b
Orlando, FL 32801
407.339.0269
CALL 855-KRAMER-NOW